Messi wins Ballon d'Or and is now a record holder


2 hours ago

Has won the Ballon d'Or 2019 for the sixth time: Linel Messi.

© Francois Mori / AP / dpa

The 32-year-old Argentinian from FC Barcelona received the award from the French trade magazine "France Football" on Monday evening at the Paris Theater du Chatelet. At the FIFA election, Messi had already been named World Player in September.
The Argentinian international prevailed in this year's vote of international journalists, placing Liverpool professional Virgil van Dijk, Cristiano Ronaldo of Juventus Turin and Sadio Mane (Liverpool) in the next places. Best German was goalkeeper Marc-Andre ter Stegen from FC Barcelona in 24th place. The Pole Robert Lewandowski from Bayern Munich was the only nominated from the Bundesliga eighth place.

Since 2008, Ronaldo and Messi make the award almost exclusively among themselves. Only last year, Croatian Vice World Champion Luka Modric took the prize. Ronaldo has already won the prestigious trophy five times. The Superstar of Juventus won the Ballon d'Or in 2008, 2013, 2014, 2016 and 2017. Messi is the winner of 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015 and 2019 and now holds the title as record holder.
According to consistent media reports, Ronaldo had not even come to the meeting of the international football elite and instead attended the almost simultaneous award ceremony of the Italian Football Association in Milan. There, the Portuguese was awarded as the best player of the Italian league in the past season.
As the best footballer of the magazine "France Football" the American Megan Rapinoe was selected by Reign FC from Seattle. The best young star was Dutchman Matthijs de Ligt of Juventus Turin. Best keeper was the Brazilian Alisson from Liverpool. The goalkeeper trophy, the so-called Yachine Award, was awarded for the first time this year.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here