United States in the Davis Cup: history and medal winners of the USA


The new Davis Cup format is launched this year, where the United States will once again participate in the World Group. The Americans want to relive those old glories that currently place him as the top winner of the tournamentHowever, they do not seem to have the generation of previous years.

Historically, the country of the Stars and Stripes He has placed himself as one of the frequent guests to the Davis Cup World Group, in addition to being known for having released figures such as: John McEnroe, Andy Roddick and Andre Agassi.

Currently, The North American cadre does not have a figure of that magnitude. And is that the best placed American is John Isner, Nineteenth in the ATP Ranking, and the great absent in the November contest.

History and Medal winners

The United States began its Davis Cup adventure since its inception. In 1900, a group of Harvard university students they challenged Britain, taking the victory in a blunt way 3-0.

Since the World Group was created in 1981, Americans have attended all editions with one exception, in 1988. They are the top winners of the contest with 32 championships, although they have not won since 2007.

This year, The United States performed with a group that included Andy Roddick, James Blake and the Bryan brothers. The Stars and Stripes won the tournament after beating the Czech Republic, Spain, Sweden and Russia in the Grand Final.

Rivals in 2019

The United States is in Group F of the Davis Cup, where it shares a sector with Canada and Italy. On this occasion, and led by Mardy Fish as team captain, the USA squad consists of Reilly Opelka, Taylor Fritz, Sam Querrey, Frances Tiafoe and Jack Sock.

Source link



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here