Everything worth knowing about the European Qualifiers for the UEFA EURO 2020 | European Qualifiers


How does the qualification work?

Twelve countries will host final round matches in 2020, so there is no automatic qualification for the hosts. This means that all 55 UEFA nations have to play for the 24 tournament sites. 20 participants qualify through the group phase. The first two seats of each group will continue. The remaining four places will be awarded through the new play-offs system associated with the UEFA Nations League. More on that, same.

So the qualification goes over the group phase

The draw for the group stage took place on 2 December 2018. The 55 teams were allotted a total of ten groups of five or six teams. Four of the five groups of five teams each contain one team that qualified for the UEFA Nations League finals (which will be held in June 2019). The two best teams of each group qualify for the finals of the EURO.

Who has qualified so far?

Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, England, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Poland, Russia, Spain, Sweden, Turkey, Ukraine

What about the play-offs?

Every single league (ie A, B, C and D) in the UEFA Nations League has been allocated a place in UEFA EURO 2020. Four teams from each league play in March 2020 in a semi-final (no second leg) and a final (also a game). The winners of these four finals will have a place at UEFA EURO 2020.

Which teams play in the play-offs?

Theoretically, the four winners of the four groups from each of the four leagues – but should a group winner of the UEFA Nations League have previously qualified through the European Qualifiers, his place goes to the next best placed team in his league. At the end of the UEFA Nations League, the teams were ranked 1-55 (group position, points, goal difference, etc.)

The finals of UEFA EURO 2020

As with UEFA EURO 2016, the 24 teams will be grouped into six groups of four teams each. The top two teams of each group and the four best third-placed teams reach the knockout phase. What's new? The games are played in twelve different countries.

All appointments

March 21 – 23, 2019: 1st game day
March 24-26, 2019: 2nd game day
07. – 08. June 2019: 3rd matchday
10th – 11th June 2019: 4th game day
05. – 07. September 2019: 5th matchday
08. – 10. September 2019: 6th game day
10th – 12th October 2019: 7th game day
October 13th – 15th, 2019: 8th game day
14th – 16th November 2019: 9th game day
17th – 19th November 2019: 10th game day
November 22, 2019: Play-off draw of the European Qualifiers
November 30, 2019: Draw of UEFA EURO 2020 final tournament, Bucharest
March 26 – 31, 2020: Play-offs of the European Qualifiers
April 1, 2020: Further draw for the finals, if necessary
12th of June – July 12, 2020: UEFA EURO 2020 finals

Source link



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here